Webinar – The Illusion of Smart Money

Add to my calendar – Wednesday 24 June 2020 – 06:00 p.m. (EEST) – 11:00 a.m. (EDT) – 08:00 a.m. (PDT)


According to Damodaran, people often assume that there are smart people with access to better tools and more data who get into and out of markets at the right time, pick the right stocks, and walk away with huge profits. Another general assumption also seems to be that hedge fund managers, private equity businesses, and elite mutual funds are on the side of smart money and that retail investors are not. During the webinar, Damodaran will explain the problems of these two assumptions and give some advice on what are the characteristics of a good investor.

His keynote will be followed by a Q&A session.

Aswath Damodaran is the Professor of Finance at the Stern School of Business at New York University. He teaches corporate finance and valuation courses in the MBA program. His research interests lie in valuation, portfolio management, and applied corporate finance. He has published in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, the Journal of Finance, the Journal of Financial Economics and the Review of Financial Studies.

Sign up for the webinar

Aswath Damodaran